Animal Testing: Let’s Talk About It

After watching BeautySavvy’s video regarding cosmetic companies testing their products on animals, I’ve decided to go green when it comes to buying cosmetics (or at least try to the best of my ability). I looked up what brands don’t partake in animal testing and was relieved to see that both M.A.C. and NARS don’t do it. However, many every-day products (like toothpaste from Crest or a Neutrogena face wash) are tested.

Just recently, LUSH cosmetics participated in an anti-animal testing demonstration in hopes of raising awareness about the issue:

I’d heard about animal testing, but never really looked into it. After watching both previously mentioned videos, I looked up other videos on youtube that went further into the subject. As a result, I’ve learned a lot about the topic and came across a few interesting videos, including this one from an actual makeup artist:

I’m relieved that two of my favorite makeup brands don’t test on animals- however, now that I’m more aware of what’s going on, it’s going to be harder (although rewarding) to find products I like and that aren’t tested on animals. I must warn you that there are a number of graphic videos that showcase the atrocities that are directed at the poor animals, which can be seriously disturbing and difficult to watch. In fact, I was so  disgusted to see how mice were being killed so inhumanely, that I didn’t even cringe at the sight of them (for reference, I am terrified beyond words of mice/rats/any rodent-related animal).  If you have any suggestions for other good cosmetic companies that don’t test on animals, please let me know!

Also, if you want to help fight animal testing for cosmetic purposes, please sign this petition. There are alternative ways to test products that don’t require testing on innocent animals 🙂

Leave a Reply

