Unleash the Birdy fan in you

As the title suggests, I am a Birdy fan and I’m not ashamed. I know, it’s kind of weird that she’s only 15- she’s even younger than the Biebs (and no, I’m not a Bieber fan).  When I first came across her cover of “Shelter” by the xx, I really liked it but still preferred the original, but not by a whole lot.

Original:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gw-eFdb7eVo

Birdy’s version:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QXwPUYU8rTI&ob=av2e

Then, not really being a huge Bon Iver fan to begin with, I actually preferred Birdy’s rendition of  “Skinny Love” (which I could listen to all freakin’ day). Seriously.

Bon Iver’s “Skinny Love”:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UrMmr1oMPGA

Birdy’s rendition (ah-mazing):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNzCDt2eidg&ob=av2n

Most recently, I was slightly skeptical, to say the least, when I saw she released a cover of Phoenix’s “1901,” seeing as I love the original. Fast-forward: I was blown away! Her version is just as good as the original but in a different way (I fail at comparing music). I’m going to assume most people have heard the original “1901” so I’ll spare you the extra  linkage. Here’s Birdy’s version:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jlaeJ6k75cY

She’s also covered The Postal Service’s “The District Sleeps Alone Tonight” and The National’s “Terrible Love.” It’s so rare to find a cover artist that impresses you as much as the original artist- I just felt the need to share 🙂

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. daniellevd
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 06:08:43

    Whenever I hear about gals and guys like this (young and super fucking talented) I always kind of lament my existence. Like ugh really? I suck. I will say though that I had a love affair with Bon Iver’s voice when “For Emma: Forever Ago” came out.

    Anyway I love covers. I think they’re bold and pretty awesome, usually. I like that she substituted Bon Iver’s trademark acoustic guitar for a clean, piano sound.

    Reply

  2. inlovewithyousince98
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 06:40:22

    She’s talented for her age, but I only like her three hits: skinny love, shelter, and people help the people. She’s kind of dull to me otherwise.

    Check out Grouplove.

    Reply

  3. exhaustedwriter
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 13:12:16

    I hadn’t heard of her til just now. She’s good. I like the “1901” cover, but the “skinny love” one is too busy. Then again, I am a huge fan of Bon Iver.

    Reply

  4. evanwstoner
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 14:30:05

    She’s only 15!? Yikes. Does she have any original music or does she just play covers?

    Reply

  5. zarur
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 14:30:27

    wow she’s really talented. Kinda serious for her age, but it’s working for her.

    Reply

  6. izzygirrl
    Apr 17, 2012 @ 06:18:03

    I can’t believe she is only 15. I think she sounds better than Justin Bieber.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

